MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF MEMBERS KANAWHA VALLEY REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

July 25, 2024

The Board of Members of the Kanawha Valley Regional Transportation Authority (KVRTA) met for its regular monthly meeting at the offices of the Authority (with attendance both in person and via video conferencing) at 8:45 AM on Thursday, July 25, 2024, pursuant to proper notice to the public and news media.

Present were President Todd Goldman, Valerie Gainer, and Jay Snodgrass* (representing Kanawha County), Heidi Bonnett Adams, Michael Farmer*, and Thomas Toliver (representing the City of Charleston), Mayor David Casebolt* (representing the City of Nitro), Robert Sutphin (representing the City of St. Albans), Larry Bailey* (representing the City of Dunbar), Marc Doughty (representing the Town of Belle), and Maurice Anderson (representing the City of Montgomery). Also present were members of KRT staff: Chris Baldwin, Jessica Gardner, Travis Garrett, Kelsey Harrah, Sean Hill, Jacob Pitman, and Angie Talbott. Additionally, the following persons were in attendance: Grace Hurney of Jackson Kelly PLLC (legal counsel to the Authority), Jeffery Mace* (RIC), Amanda Conley, Robert McKinney, and Brett Meadows (representing ATU Local 1742).

* - denotes virtual attendance

Absent were Jean Arthur and Bobbie Spry.

President Todd Goldman called the meeting to order by welcoming everyone and taking a roll call. The reading of the minutes of the June 27, 2024, meeting was dispensed with as each member of the Board had been previously provided with a copy thereof. A motion to approve the minutes of the June 27, 2024, meeting was made by Ms. Gainer. The motion was duly seconded and carried with unanimous consent.

Mr. Hill presented the Voting Rights Resolution to the Board. Mr. Hill reviewed the contributions and votes attributed to each jurisdiction. After a brief discussion, Mr. Sutphin made a motion to adopt the Voting Rights Resolution as presented. The motion was duly seconded and carried with unanimous consent.

President Goldman then moved to the Election of Officers and Oaths of Office. President Goldman opened the floor for nominations. After a brief discussion, the slate of officers was nominated as follows: President: Todd Goldman, Vice President: Valerie Gainer, Treasurer: Jean Arthur, Secretary: Heidi Bonnett Adams. After the nominations were closed, Mr. Toliver made a motion to approve the Election of Officers. The motion was duly seconded and carried with unanimous consent.

Ms. Gardner presented the financial statements for June 2024, consisting of the statement of net position, the statement of revenues and expenses, a comparative analysis of operations, the four weeks moving totals for passenger revenues, and a statistical analysis of operations. Ms. Gardner stated operating revenues for June 2024 totaled \$368,051 and expenses totaled \$693,253. Ms. Gardner also noted the changes in total operating revenues and expenses in comparison to the prior year. The financial statements for June 2024 were received, filed as presented, and directed to be attached to, and made a part of these minutes.

President Goldman then turned to Mr. Hill for the discussion of an invoice received from the Kanawha County Emergency Ambulance Authority (KCEAA) in excess of \$5,000. After a brief discussion, no action was taken.

President Goldman moved to Old Business. President Goldman turned to Mr. Pitman to present the Insurance Report and KAT/Operations Report. Mr. Pitman reported two new insurance claims for June 2024. Mr. Pitman then presented the KAT/Operations Report and noted the amount received from the State Opioid Response (SOR) program for June 2024, totaling \$155,581.

Mr. Hill presented the proposed recommendations of the Comprehensive Operational Analysis (COA) to the Board for consideration. After a brief discussion, Mr. Sutphin made a motion to approve the formation of a committee appointed by President Goldman on the proposed recommendations. The motion was duly seconded and carried with unanimous consent.

President Goldman moved to New Business. Due to the Officer positions of Secretary and Treasurer remaining unchanged, no action was taken for the Banking Resolutions item.

President Goldman then moved to the Public Comments portion of the meeting. Edward Woolwine and Betty Rivard, private citizens, provided remarks.

With nothing further to be discussed, President Goldman adjourned the meeting. The next regular meeting of the Board will be held Thursday, August 22, 2024, at 8:45 AM at the offices of the Authority, located at 1550 Fourth Avenue in Charleston.